Richard Hamilton Collage

R-Hamilton-Just-what-is-it-that-makes-todays-homes-so-different-so-appealing

Final Collage.jpgI decided to craft a modern take on Richard Hamilton’s collage and include aspects that were current trends and features in 2018. I included social, political and environmental  factors and found powerful images to display them. Firstly, I included the gay couple from a very popular American TV show called ‘Modern Family’. This represents the changes in Laws for gay couples to be married and how it has become more socially acceptable to have variations of the ‘nuclear family’. Above the couple, I placed a ‘Like’ from Instagram as this is one of the most popular forms of social media and this displays how focused we are on our social media presence. On the ceiling, I places an image of  plastic in the ocean to highlight the current environmental scandals that have been making an appearance in the news. On the right wall, I inserted a collage of newspaper headlines concerning the issues of BREXIT. To link back to the Richard Hamilton collages I included a escalator as a modern form of the staircase. At the top of the escalator, I put a film poster for ‘La La Land’  which is a very popular and talked about film in 2018. In the window I included an image of a drag show to express how it is now more socially acceptable than it would have been in the time of Richard Hamilton’s collage. I placed a small table in the bottom left and put the iconic Donald Trump ‘Make America Great Again’ hat to represent current politics in America. I also included an Instagram dog to express the current social media trends and interests of younger generations. This is also shown through the modern TV displaying ‘Keeping Up with the Kardashians’. On the table I put an Amazon Echo to show how technology has developed over time and also put a Nando’s Takeaway box on the table as it is one of the most popular and new restaurants.

I think my collage is quite successful as the items in it are very current and appropriate to a modern theme. The perspective in the collage are pretty realistic and fit together nicely. I also included some drop shadows to make it look more realtistic.

Leave a comment